top of page
Search

Fiddling and Suzuki

Fiddling and Suzuki are a very compatible combination! So many violin students are interested in fiddling, and I agree! It’s a fun kind of music to play and to listen to. Dr. Suzuki was all about ear-training, which in music means that the students (and the student’s families) can learn anything by listening to it, including all the music that’s playing in everyday life. Songs from the radio, jingles, favorite video game melodies, you name it! Around here in New England, that definitely includes fiddle music! Any student who trusts their ear when learning the notes and style of a piece of music, whether classical, fiddle, rock, pop, etc, will soon be able to play anything they hear! I have enjoyed learning and performing tunes from several different styles, including bluegrass, American folk, Celtic, European folk, rock, and jazz. Since I have classical training, I do read music notation, but since I was trained by the Suzuki method, I also learned to rely heavily on my ear in learning anything new. When a musician knows how to tune into the sound they are experiencing, their artistry flows naturally. My students learn their technical proficiency and excellent violin skills from the step-by-step progress outlined by the Suzuki repertoire, and I encourage them to branch out from there to other music of their choice. I have taught them melodies from the Irish and Appalachian repertoire, as well as jazz, pop, and the music of Morris dancing, depending on their level of experience. If you are one of those violinists who hankers to play fiddle tunes, I can set you well on your way to that, plus all the other opportunities you encounter along the way!


27 views0 comments
bottom of page